Como Steakhouse in Como, Mississippi

photo 1Okay okay, I’ve been a busy lady. Please don’t think this blog has been brushed aside permanently, but let’s just say that work has been a bit crazy, and the extra time I once had to devote to personal projects has disappeared, replaced instead by rushed “lunch breaks” that consist of me scarfing down my lunch at my desk. Still, I’ll try to be better.

photo 2Even with the increased work-load at my M-F job, we’ve still been finding time to relax and explore on the weekends. In fact, family came to visit last weekend, and we made the trek down to Como Steakhouse. My boyfriend has been telling me about this place for months, so I was glad that we finally found an excuse to visit. Located on an adorable town square in Como, Mississippi, we waited for an hour and a half for a table. (Next time we’ll make reservations!) By the time we were seated we actually ate an entire basket of saltine crackers before the waitress could bring our drinks. It got pretty serious there for a second.

photo 3Spoiler Alert: if you’re looking for white tablecloths, pages of options, or anything vegetarian or vegan, you should probably skip this one. These folks have obviously paired down their menu to only the things they do well, and the meat is what people make the drive for. Yes, the sausage plate has a great reputation, but at the end of the day it’s cubed meat a cheese. As far as your side options go, you get a salad and baked potato (i.e. there are no options). But the good news is that despite what some might consider as  negatives, when your steak appears before you, it’s all worth it. Our entire party opted for ribeyes (I’m a little bit embarrassed to tell you that we each ordered the 20 ounce steaks), and they were everything a steak needs to be: juicy, well-seasoned, and a bit charred on the outside. So good!

photo 4The dining room can get a bit smoky since there’s a huge grill in the corner where everyone’s steak is cooked, but it wasn’t overpowering. If you’re planning a special night, I’d recommend going early, as many of the specials and desserts were sold out by the time we ordered. My heart broke a little when I wasn’t able to sample the Como Delight that I’d been hearing such great things about. If you find yourself at Como Steakhouse in the near future, have a slice for me.

photo 5

 

 

 

Como Steakhouse

203 N Main St, Como, MS 38619
(662) 526-9529

Open M-Th 5:00pm-10:00pm, Fri and Sat 4:30pm – 10pm, Closed Sundays

Leave a Reply

